CSAFM Awards

Graham K. Walker Award:

Dr. Graham K. Walker was a Canadian Agrometeorologist who contributed to excellence in research and operational agrometeorology. He completed university in the United Kingdom, Canada and the Unites States, and gained a diverse background in the disciplines of agronomy, soil-science and meteorology, that combined to form a well-rounded “agrometeorologist”. As a scientist, he worked as a researcher at the University of Guelph, and as a Director of Crop and Weather Surveillance at the Canadian Wheat Board. Tragically, he was killed in an automobile accident at the age of 39, while on assignment as an agrometeorologist in Syria.

The Graham K. Walker award recognizes excellence in agrometeorology or forest meteorology, and honours a working scientist at a career stage that still holds much future promise. The ideal recipient will have contributed to research and operational agrometeorology or forest meteorology in Canada, but excellence in either area of work is acceptable. Neither teaching nor administration are prime areas for this award. The award honours researchers in the early stages of their career, generally within ten years of graduating. Past recipients are:

  • 1994 Robert Gordon
  • 1995 Peter Dzikowski
  • 1996 Philippe Rochette
  • 1997 Elizabeth Pattey
  • 1998 Charles Bourque
  • 1999 Guy Ash
  • 2000 Claudia Wagner-Riddle
  • 2008 Ian Strachan
  • 2012 Elyn Humphreys
  • 2017 Andreas Christen

The tangible representation of the award is an inscribed plaque. Written nominations with a current Curriculum Vitae should be submitted to the CSAFM Executive, usually during the spring.

CSAFM Fellow

The title “Fellow of the Canadian Society of Agrometeorology” is granted for professional distinction worthy of national recognition. The fellowship is the highest honour that can be bestowed by the society. The following scientist have received this distinction:

  • 1987 L.J. Chapman
  • 1987 G.W. Robertson
  • 1987 M.K. Thomas
  • 1988 K.D. Hage
  • 1989 R.H. Douglas
  • 1993 Wolfgang Baier
  • 1994 Murray Brown
  • 1995 Ken King
  • 1997 George Thurtell
  • 1998 Andy Black
  • 1999 Raymond Desjardins
  • 2001 Peter Schuepp
  • 2004 Terry Gillespie
  • 2006 John D. Wilson
  • 2012 Brian Amiro
  • 2015 Elizabeth Pattey
  • 2018 Claudia Wagner-Riddle
  • 2022 Paul Bullock

Written nominations with a current Curriculum Vitae should be submitted to the CSAFM Executive, usually during the spring.

Campbell Scientific Canada – Bert Tanner Student Prize

Every year Campbell Scientific Canada sponsors an award ($1000) to the best student (oral or poster) presentation given at the CSAFM meeting. In 2009 this award was renamed in honour of Bert Tanner, whose many contributions to the field and tireless support of young scientists will be sorely missed by all. A panel of judges comprised by members of the Executive selects the winner based on the quality of the research and the presentation given. Past winners of this award are:

  • 1992 Alan Barr, University of Guelph
  • 1993 Charles Lyamchai, University of Guelph
  • 1994 Aston Chipanshi, University of Saskatchewan
  • 1995 Robert Pelletier, McGill University
  • 1996 Isobel Simpson, University of Guelph
  • 1997 Matthew Smith, University of New Brunswick
  • 1998 Eva Jork, University of British Columbia
  • 1999 Selma Maggiotto, University of Guelph
  • 2001 Andrew G. Thompson, University of Guelph
  • 2002 Paul Bartlett, Downsview, Ontario
  • 2003 Elyn Humphreys, University of British Columbia
  • 2004 Nathalie Mathieu, McGill University
  • 2006 Aaron Glenn, University of Manitoba and Alison Sass, University of Manitoba
  • 2007 John Postma, University of Alberta
  • 2009 Eduardo Santos, University of Guelph
  • 2012 Neil Risk, University of Guelph
  • 2013 Krista Hanis, University of Manitoba
  • 2014 Hughie Jones, University of British Columbia, and Jilmarie Stephens, University of British Columbia
  • 2015 Luc Pelletier, McGill University
  • 2016 Manuel Helbig, Université de Montréal, and Phillip Harder, University of Saskatchewan
  • 2017 M. Graham Clark, Carleton University
  • 2018 Ellie M. Goud, Cornell University
  • 2019 Tony Britton, University of Manitoba and Zhe Zhang, University of Saskatchewan
  • 2020 Rebecca Johnson, University of Guelph
  • 2021 Taurai Matengu, University of Manitoba, and Erin Nicholls, McMaster University
  • 2022 Tin Satriawan, University of British Columbia, and Kayla Wicks, University of Guelph
  • 2023 Christopher Schulze, University of Alberta, and Roya Faramarzi, University of Alberta

CSAFM Student Presentation Award

When the quality of student presentations justifies multiple awards, CSAFM also sponsors an award for outstanding presentation. The award value is typically $250. This award is judged by members of the Executive based on the quality of the research and the presentation given. Past winners of this award are:

  • 2012 Amanda Mathys (Oral Presentation), UBC; and Stephanie Crombie (Poster Presentation), McGill University
  • 2013 Amanda Taylor (Oral Presentation), University of Manitoba; and Jolene Rutter (Poster Presentation), University of Manitoba
  • 2015 Erin Nicholls, McMaster University
  • 2016 Kelly Nugent, McGill University; Jilmarie Stephens, University of British Columbia; and Stacey Strilesky, Carleton University
  • 2017 Kelsey Everard, University of British Columbia; Tobias Weber, Technical University Carolo-Wilhelmina zu Braunschweig; and Pierre-Erik Isabelle, Université Laval
  • 2018 Kirsten J Lees (Oral Presentation), University of Reading; Mark Libby (Poster Presentation), University of Guelph, and Vera K Sokolov (Poster Presentation), Wilfred Laurier
  • 2020 Yuanpei Gao, University of Guelph; Tracy Rankin, McGill University
  • 2021 Patrick Pow, University of British Columbia
  • 2022 Nicole Menheere, University of Guelph
  • 2023, Natasa Popovic, University of Waterloo and Hayden Tackley, Dalhousie University

CSAFM Travel Bursaries

Each year CSAFM offers a travel bursary to CSAFM student members who require financial assistance to attend the annual meeting of the society. CSAFM student members who are presenting at the meeting and wish to receive a travel bursary should download the application form (link below) and submit it to the CSAFM executive (elyn_humphreys@carleton.ca). The size of the travel bursaries will depend on the number of students who apply.

CSAFM Travel Bursary Application

© 2012 Jon